Getting to Know Your Characters

Great post. Character sheets are still great for sketching out the basics of your characters, but inserting them into short stories or scenes is a really useful way to get to know them. I did this with several of my characters back in the day, and it really helped to “see” them for the first time.

T. A. Hernandez

This week I want to talk about one of the most basic and most important parts of writing: getting to know your characters. I know this sort of thing has been covered extensively by many other writers, but I want to add my two cents to the discussion.

See, for me, this hasn’t ever been particularly easy, though I feel like it is one of the easier parts of writing for a lot of people. Not that anything in writing is easy, but I always see writers who are completely enamored with these new characters they’ve created, gushing over them and going on and on about how much they love all the different facets of their personalities. Meanwhile, I’m standing here in the corner with a cardboard cutout of something that vaguely resembles a real person, wondering how on Earth I’m going to turn them into someone believable. Don’t get…

View original post 1,548 more words

Leave a Reply

