Book Review: Rath’s Reckoning by Piers Platt

reckoning-600x800-250x400

4.5stars

I was given a free advance copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

This ended up being a really fun series. I think back to when I first started it, and I really had no idea what I was getting into. While the characters weren’t as well-developed as others I’ve read, I still really enjoyed following them throughout these three books and seeing how events forced their paths to cross.

Like Rath’s Gambit did before, this book started out exactly where the previous one left off. And, as before, I thought I might end up rating this one 4 stars (which would have made me sad because I feel like the third installment should always be the best!). But the further I read, the more action there was, and the faster the plot moved. I ended up finishing the book in a single sitting.

I have to say I wasn’t quite sure what to expect in terms of an ending. While a bittersweet ending would have been appropriate considering the backstory and content matter, I’m now glad that the characters ended up with a happy ending. The final showdown (and aftermath of said showdown) with the Guild was epic — very Italian Job-esque.

Recommended for readers who like plenty of action and intrigue in their sci fi!


 

Deception-600x800 27211683Rath’s Reckoning releases January 1, 2016! Look for it on Amazon and Goodreads. Find books 1 and 2 in the Janus Group series – Rath’s Deception and Rath’s Gambit – for Kindle!

 


 

About Piers Platt:

7265977“I grew up in Boston, but spent most of my childhood in various boarding schools, including getting trained as a classical singer at a choir school for boys. I joined the Army in 2002, and spent four years on active duty, including a year-long deployment to Iraq in 2004 as a tank and scout platoon leader.

When I’m not spending time with my lovely wife and daughter, I’m frantically working on my next book.

To be the first to hear about new releases – and get a free e-book! – sign up for my newsletter HERE.”

Leave a Reply

